Jump to content


This forum will soon be converted into a read-only archive. Please download any non-public content (like direct messages) you wish to preserve, as it will not be available in the archive.
Photo

Chained MSI repair mode


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 overlordchin

overlordchin
  • Full Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 09 August 2012 - 20:53

I have a chained MSI that does not repair when you repair the parent app.

I have seen several forum posts that refer to ecoReinstallInstalled (16) which is an option for the ISChainPackage Table. I tried setting it to 16 and rebuilding the chained package still doesnt run maintenance mode.

I tried adding a property [CHAINREINSTALLALL] to my install properties and setting it to an empty string on install or REINSTALLMODE="VOMUS" REINSTALL="ALL on repair through a custom action.


Neither one seems to allow repair. I also tried following this blurb

Flexera Chained MSI

which offered this advice:

You can modify this if necessary. For example, if you are adding the chained .msi package to a minor upgrade and you want the Windows Installer to launch the chained .msi package during a first-time installation and during an upgrade, consider adding a condition such as the following one:
Not Installed OR REINSTALL><"FeatureName"
In this example, FeatureName is the name of a feature that will be updated if the main installation is running in upgrade mode. It will also be updated during a repair.

Which did not seem to help.

What am I doing wrong



#2 overlordchin

overlordchin
  • Full Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 15:51

Based on the post here msi maint mode

I tried to change the value of IS_CHAINER_POST_COMMANDLINE but that didnt seem to work the way I had hoped it would. The repair didnt fire (displayed the setup was interrupted dialog SetupCompleteError). which indicates the string i supplied was incorrect or it couldnt find the msi file to run.


I set the value to be:

CODE
/l"C:\DOCUME~1\QA\LOCALS~1\Temp\MSIcb4e.LOG" /qb /i"\"[SourceDir]My.msi\"";"ARPSYSTEMCOMPONENT=1 LOCALIZED=\"TRUE\" REINSTALLMODE="vomus" REINSTALL="ALL"




#3 overlordchin

overlordchin
  • Full Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 16:27

from the log:

MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:559]: Executing op: RegAddValue(,,)
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:559]: Executing op: ActionStart(Name=CreateShortcuts,Description=Creating shortcuts,Template=Shortcut: [1])
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:590]: Executing op: ActionStart(Name=CreateFolders,Description=Creating folders,Template=Folder: [1])
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:590]: Executing op: ActionStart(Name=RemoveODBC,Description=Removing ODBC components,)
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:605]: Executing op: ActionStart(Name=ProcessComponents,Description=Updating component registration,)
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:605]: Executing op: ActionStart(Name=ISChainPackageCommit,,)
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:605]: Executing op: ActionStart(Name=ISChainPackageRollback,,)
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:605]: Executing op: CustomActionRollback(Action=ISChainPackageRollback,ActionType=1281,Source=BinaryData,Target=ISChainPackagesCleanup,)
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:605]: Creating MSIHANDLE (430) of type 790536 for thread 3296
MSI (s) (94:4C) [11:14:45:605]: Invoking remote custom action. DLL: C:\WINDOWS\Installer\MSI4B.tmp, Entrypoint: ISChainPackagesCleanup
MSI (s) (94:4C) [11:14:45:699]: Closing MSIHANDLE (430) of type 790536 for thread 3296
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:699]: Executing op: End(Checksum=0,ProgressTotalHDWord=0,ProgressTotalLDWord=0)
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:699]: Error in rollback skipped. Return: 5
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:699]: Decrementing counter to disable shutdown. If counter >= 0, shutdown will be denied. Counter after decrement: -1
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:715]: Restoring environment variables
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:715]: Closing MSIHANDLE (429) of type 790535 for thread 3588
MSI (s) (94:E0) [11:14:45:715]: No System Restore sequence number for this installation.
MSI © (9C:A4) [11:14:45:824]: Back from server. Return value: 1603
MSI © (9C:A4) [11:14:45:824]: Decrementing counter to disable shutdown. If counter >= 0, shutdown will be denied. Counter after decrement: -1
MSI © (9C:A4) [11:14:45:824]: PROPERTY CHANGE: Deleting SECONDSEQUENCE property. Its current value is '1'.
Action ended 11:14:45: ExecuteAction. Return value 3.

#4 overlordchin

overlordchin
  • Full Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 20:53

I believe that log is the parent msi that chains the other msi. There is another msi log with the same timestamp that is only 4 lines long and has no indication of an error other than the overwhelming lack of information:

=== verbose logging started: 8/10/2012 14:30:03 Build type: SHIP UNICODE 4.05.6001.00 Calling process: C:\Windows\Installer\MSI8D.tmp ===
MSI © (10:40) [14:30:03:813]: Cloaking enabled.
MSI © (10:40) [14:30:03:813]: Attempting to enable all disabled privileges before calling Install on Server
=== verbose logging stopped: 8/10/2012 14:30:03 ===


The event viewer said - Failed to end a Windows Installer transaction. Error 5 occurred while ending the transaction.

#5 overlordchin

overlordchin
  • Full Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 21:22

So if I go to the command line and manually invoke
msiexec /i {MYGUID} REINSTALLMODE="omus" REINSTALL="ALL" I get a prompt trying to find the original source msi after the installer UI is presented and its trying to copy files. I had it in my head that perhaps I could try to make a custom action to call that on repair and sort of end around the problem but I am still doing something incorrectly.

Maybe this error will spur someones thinking? I hope..


Mind you this is what happens if i take out my change to IS_CHAIN_COMMANDLINE_POST or whatever and went back to setting REINSTALLMODE and REINSTALL on the install properties passed into the chain package setting like I originally had it. If I do this there is no error in the log and it doesnt present the SetupCompleteError. But it also doesnt run the repair for the chained msi.

Edited by overlordchin, 10 August 2012 - 21:24.


#6 overlordchin

overlordchin
  • Full Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 08 November 2012 - 17:08

This is still an issue for me if any one has any insight to offer. Cross post to flexera forums where I got nothing but crickets as well: http://community.fle...ad.php?t=202285



#7 overlordchin

overlordchin
  • Full Members
  • 100 posts

Posted 29 November 2012 - 20:09

Anyone have any suggestions at all? Please?