This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Repair mode corrupts the installation.

4 replies to this topic

installer_wow

installer_wow
  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 25 June 2004 - 06:46

Hi,

I have written a win32 dll that contains all the custom actions that I want to perform during installation and un installation.
Also I am shipping some third party controls that bind themselves tightly with Outlook and Word.
At the development machines the installer service is invoked for no good reason and tries to repair the installation, which calls all the custom action and corrupts the entire installation.
Is there any way I can prevent my installer to run in repair mode.
Also is there any way to "detect" whether my installation is running in Repair,Remove or Modify mode.
Being a newbie, I am not totally aware of the technology.

Thanks in advance,

Akshay Arora
ND.

Glytzhkof

Glytzhkof
  • Moderators
  • 1,447 posts

Posted 25 June 2004 - 08:32

Unwanted repair operations have many causes. Check the event log to figure out what component caused the repair to be triggered. Some common causes: files installed to the local user profile that are not accessible for other users, a file in the tmp folder set as keyfile and the file has gotten deleted, components that point to empty folders, etc... Search this board and you will find many suggestions.

You could, but should not prevent your installation to be run in repair mode (manually invoked). You cannot prevent self-repair to occur (which is in effect an automatic repair mode).

To detect whether the installation is running in Repair,Remove or Modify mode:

Fresh install: Not Installed

Uninstall: (Remove = "ALL")

The repair and modify options are more problematic. I cannot guarantee these conditions, but try something like: