This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Rant: What the heck is going on with MDAC and Jet?

12 replies to this topic

BadDog

BadDog
  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 June 2001 - 17:53

I'm a long-time Access developer getting ready to finish my first VB6 application. Its a small little ditty that needs to look at several Access97 tables as it runs and the user makes choices. Anyway, I'm in the throes of creating an installation solution for it.

<RANT ON>MS is no longer including Jet in the MDAC redistributable as of version 2.6. Why not? I can't find *any* reference *anywhere* as to their reason for this. To make matters worse, if I want to use the Visual Studio Installer, I have to use the wrapper.exe kludge to get MDAC installed in the process, using a pre-2.6 version of MDAC. But what happens if MDAC 2.6 is already on the machine, and no previous version (and therefore, no Jet version) has been installed on it, which will probably happen when Windows XP come out? How do I make the installer run the redistributable Jet 4.0 SP3 setup?

o     I've explored switching from ADO to DAO, but DAO still needs MDAC.
o     I looked at using the older Visual Basic P&D Wizard, but there's still that MDAC 2.6 cloud hanging over my solution.
o     Installshield looks viable: it looks like they have Merge Modules for Access97 & 2K, and for various flavors of MDAC, but again, what happens when a machine out there has only ever had MDAC 2.6+ on it and never Jet? And then there's the price (which I wouldn't mind if I knew I'd be doing alot more VB6 development).