This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Windows Installer service Win2000

12 replies to this topic

360freq

360freq
  • Full Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 24 December 2008 - 09:23

before I begin you should know that I am not a developer or technician.. just a graphic student trying to work with Windows.

I can not run the Windows Installer Service on my Windows 2000 SP4 machine.. and i've been searching a solution for quite some time. I came here to ask for assistance. When I install applications (latest Java, or .Net Framework etc) that use the Windows Installer method or an .MSI extension.. I receive this error message:

"The Windows Installer Service could not be accessed. This can occur if the Windows Installer is not correctly installed".

so I tried a few different remedies. I re-named the "msiexec.exe" file with an .old extension.. but after rebooting, nothing changed. I am aware that W2k has a Windows Installer (msiexec.exe) built in to the O/S, so I thought to try a more recent version such as - Windows Installer (3.1 v2 KB893803). Ok.. the install actually went fine with no errors.

at "Component Services" I set it to "Automatic" and upon "Starting" the service the Microsoft Management Console gives me this error message: "Could not start the Windows Installer service on Local Computer. The service did not return an error. This could be an Internal Windows error or an internal service error".

fyi: this has a dependency on the Remote Procedure call (RPC), which I set to 'Automatic' and I have the RPC service "Started". in Component Services I keep quite a few disabled because I run a basic system and don't need 'remote' or 'network' services. I have a good reference file on what's safe to choose.