This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

writing a macro to copy files to new folder

16 replies to this topic

believer

believer
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 29 July 2004 - 02:00

Hi again,

My next dilemna is how to write a macro to copy files from multiple folders to a new folder on the harddrive....any suggestions?

Thanks

Glytzhkof

Glytzhkof
  • Moderators
  • 1,447 posts

Posted 29 July 2004 - 04:39

Sounds like a regular batch file with xcopy should do the trick?
Regards
-Stein Åsmul

believer

believer
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 29 July 2004 - 05:27

Oh forgot to mention I am not a programmer so if possible can you be more specific ;-) ie: I have no idea where or how to write a batch file.

believer

believer
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 29 July 2004 - 05:52

Well, some of my ancient dos is coming back....here's what I'm trying to do and I know the individual copy command but how can I get it to automatically go through each folder and only copy the files[not folders] to the cd?

Here's what I know so far ;-)

cmd
copy c:\test\disk1\*.* g:
that works
now I have to do the same for each of the following:
c:\test\disk2\*.* g:
c:\test\disk3\*.* g:
c:\test\disk4\*.* g:
c:\test\disk5\*.* g:
c:\test\disk6\*.* g:
is that what the batch file will do?

then there are a couple of single files that need to also be copied. The next step is trickier, I have 36 individual folders that each have one client specific file that needs to be copied onto the cd. Each one is in a specific client named folder, can i get it to prompt me to put in client1 cd, then client2 cd, etc?

I learning...thanks

believer

believer
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 29 July 2004 - 06:32