This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Copying Files Problem

8 replies to this topic

CDOSRUN

CDOSRUN
  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 April 2003 - 21:41

Hi everyone,

I need help, I am trying to write an install shield file that will simply place a .txt file in the end user machine.  I try using the Copy function in the function OnFirstUIBefore(), but it never works.

Anyone got any ideas?  I am pretty new to IS.

Thanks.

Taco Bell

Taco Bell

IS6 Expert

• Moderators
  • 1,281 posts

Posted 02 April 2003 - 02:46

Please provide us a copy of the exact call you are trying to make and the surrounding code.

You probably forgot to use double backslashes to represent one backslash, to use the full path, or something simple like that.
user posted image

CDOSRUN

CDOSRUN
  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 April 2003 - 17:12

all i want my program to do is to put a small text file in a folder that i create on the end-user's drive.  I placed the text file in the Other part of Setup Files.  I use the following code in my OnFirstUIBefore():

Disable(LOGGING);
TARGETDIR = "C:\\SAMPLEFILE";
CopyFile("Myfile.txt","MyFile.txt");

I created single executable file on my media.  The exe creates the folder and places the file in correctly, yet i see that there is a TestApp.exe program in my Add/Remove Programs dialog.  This is what i don't want to happen.  I just want the program to simulate a act of moving a file from the disk to the folder.  I added a ComponentRemoveAll(); call at the end of OnFirstUIAfter(); but i am not sure if this is the correct way to go.  I also want the setup to always overwrite the file and never uninstall anything.

Thanks.

Xitch13

Xitch13
  • Members
  • 134 posts

Posted 03 April 2003 - 17:54