This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Custom Action - msi type 38 = Internal Error 2738

2 replies to this topic

wysiwyg

wysiwyg
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 August 2002 - 15:36

Hi,

I have a CA that has some VBscript. It has been running fine. However, I just formatted and re-install the OS (WintNT 4.0 sp6a) and when trying to run setup.exe (standard project) I get a Internal Error 2738. This error means it cant find the script associated with the CA. Here is a snippet from the log file:
MSI (s) (83:80): Doing action: CAVB
Action start 10:10:14: CAVB.
MSI (s) (83:80): Creating MSIHANDLE (12) of type 790542 for thread 128
MSI (s) (83:80): Creating MSIHANDLE (13) of type 0 for thread 128
DEBUG: Error 2738: Could not access VBScript runtime for custom action
Internal Error 2738.
MSI (s) (83:80): Product: test -- Internal Error 2738.

Has anyone any idea whats going on? I have the script 'as a part of the CA'. Also, even before I reformated the OS, it was a cleanly installed machine.

hambone

hambone
  • Members
  • 206 posts

Posted 06 August 2002 - 17:25

do you have the necessary files required to run the scripts ?  

try running the scripts, or another VBScript file, external to the msi ( say via the command line ) and see if they run...

hteichert

hteichert
  • Members
  • 158 posts

Posted 27 August 2002 - 10:11

A clean NT4 with SP6a doesn't contain the scripting engine. It still runs IE V2.0! To run your scripts you have two possibilities:
- install IE V5.0 or higher
- get scripting host from Microsoft Scripting Homepage