This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Installation doesn't remove anything after upgrade

7 replies to this topic

orlando.ribeiro

orlando.ribeiro
  • Full Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 14 November 2008 - 11:12

Hello,

I am a Installshield 11 user. I mainly use it for InstallScript projects, but i have one single setup that is a basic MSI.

I'm kind of new to the MSI world, so i don't really know what to make of this problem:

If i install and uninstall the product, everything is fine.

If i install a second version of the product (revision), the setup completes in seconds. It doesn't seem to do anything... Even worse, when i uninstall, all the files/registry/etc remain in the system.

Our current system does not change Product code, upgrade code or Procuct version before compiling the setup.

I read some things about upgrades, so i tried to change Product Version and the Upgrade Code on the setup, but the result is the same.

Is this standard funcionality in installshield? What can i do to solve this problem?

Thanks,
Orlando.

tzkv2n

tzkv2n
  • Full Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 November 2008 - 10:31

When doing a revision/upgrade you should always change the package code and the version number.

Upgrade code should never change, and the product code should only change if you are doing a major upgrade.

If all you are doing is updating files then a minor upgrade (changing the package code and version number) should be fine.

Anything more than this (deleting files, changing names etc) you will generally need to do a major upgrade.

orlando.ribeiro

orlando.ribeiro
  • Full Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 26 November 2008 - 18:14

Thanks for your reply. I will test your suggestions and reply as soon as i can find the time smile.gif

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators