This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Making Green Color background for setup (pl help)

7 replies to this topic

suvidha

suvidha
  • Members
  • 72 posts

Posted 23 May 2001 - 07:28

I am new in this field and hope to get  some help from you guys..

I want to create splash (i am not sure if that is what it is called) for my setup.exe. ie
I want to have green color full screen/window in the background with my company's name on Top left corner while the dialog boxes of my installer are shown...
I have the dialog boxes ready but could not figure out how to make the green color background.
I tried SetColor(BACKGROUND, BK_SOLIDGREEN) in Installscript (MyFunction) but it did not work.

It looks simple but i could not figure out a wayt to do this!!

Thanks in advance..

OKauhanen

OKauhanen
  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 23 May 2001 - 07:56

There are two ways to do this. You can use billboards or you can set the color of the background and the background image from the script. I prefer to do it from the script.

From script:
Enable( FULLWINDOWMODE );
SetColor(BACKGROUND,RGB (2, 40, 80));
Enable( BACKGROUND );//This is optinal. Try without it
PlaceBitmap(szImagePath,0,0,0, UPPER_LEFT);
szImagePath = "c:\\images\\picture.bmp"
It would be better to store the image in the binary table and then stream it out to the temporary directory, which MSI creates at the start of the install. Then you could use szImagePath= SUPPORTDIR ^ "picture.bmp"
This isn't very easy so you probably don't want to try this right away if you are a beginner. The function for streaming binaries is not  built in, but it can be found from InstallShield's examples folder or some similar directory.

Billboards are probably a better solution for a beginner: