This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Installing libraries before installation begins

8 replies to this topic

MerolaC

MerolaC
  • Full Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 20 April 2010 - 15:13

Hello everyone.
I'm new around here.
And I'm searching for some help.
I don't know the Install Script language at all, since i do simple installs like: Install files, add a registry entry and add a shortcut to the desktop. Thats about it.

But, what i need to know now, is, how to AFTER installation, make InstallShield install some Microsoft libraries (like DirectX, Visual C++ Redistributable, etc Silently if possible, with a little screen saying "Installing DirectX", etc)

How do i accomplish that?

As i said, I'm a complete noob when it comes to scripting.
So, i need this clean and simple.

I really appreciate any help.

Thank you.

Edited by MerolaC, 20 April 2010 - 15:21.

Maharani

Maharani
  • Full Members
  • 50 posts

Posted 21 April 2010 - 08:01

Hi,

you can look in ApplicationData/Prerequistes and ApplicationData/Objects for a prerequisite which meets your needs. That's the easiest way because you don't have to care about it.

If not you can provide the installer on your setup CD and call the exe with LaunchAppAndWait.
(Mail me if you need example code)

You shouldn't install AFTER installing your files, at least not the MFCRT. If you have a self-registering exe registering it will fail with very strange error messages if the appropriate MFCRT is not installed.
So you should call the exe in OnFirstUIBefore and OnMaintUIBefore, and in OnUpdateUIBefore if your setup provides all these dialogs.

Regards
Rita

MerolaC

MerolaC
  • Full Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 April 2010 - 16:15

Hi Rita, and Thank you.

The ApplicationData/Prerequistes and ApplicationData/Objects are going to help. Thanks.