This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Problems With Developer 7

9 replies to this topic

Ribbotson

Ribbotson
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 September 2001 - 22:24

I'm not the only person to find problems with Installshield 7, but what do the rest of you think about it?

I am deploying MDAC 2.6, MSDE, BDE, and various other components, and have encountered several problems with each of them.  Since I am an hourly paid contractor, I don't mind too much but there seem to be more problems than in other versions.

What do you think?

pdriley

pdriley
  • Members
  • 91 posts

Posted 21 September 2001 - 13:33

I've said a lot elsewhere on this forum, the rants dotted all over the place and a thread of positive comments as well, so I'm not going to rehash.

I will agree with you that the Merge Modules are a serious problem.  The ones that are specifically built using WI methodology aren't so bad, but those IS ones that just wrap a non-WI installer (MDAC, Jet, etc) are nothing short of useless.

I've found that the best approach is to just fudge them :)

But then all this was true of ISWi as well, it hasn't got worse it just hasn't improved at all.  A lot of other things have improved (I would give my left arm for a proper way of handling ModuleXxxSequence tables though) and all-in-all ISD 7 is a step in the right direction.

Like the Final Fantasy series, I strongly look forward to version 10 ;)

bzimmo

bzimmo
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 September 2001 - 01:09

I have had nothing but trouble with ISD 7. Hung IDE, exceptions, etc.
For the amount of money InstallShield charge for their products, it is not unreasonable to expect a stable IDE.

pdriley

pdriley
  • Members
  • 91 posts

Posted 26 September 2001 - 18:53