This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Upgrade Merge module and its associated count

12 replies to this topic

babric

babric
  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 07 July 2005 - 10:42

Hi,

(Sorry for my poor english but it's not my mother language)

I'm new in MSI Packaging and I want to do something which appears really difficult for me, so I need your help...

I'll take an example :

I have 3 *.msi file : A, B and C.

A contains : (A.personnal) files and (A.global_v1) files (global == merge module)

B contains : (B.personnal) files and (B.global_v1) files (B.global_v1 is the same module than A.global_v1)

C contains : (C.personnal) files and (C.global_v2) files (C.global_v2 is is an upgrade of global_v1, compatible with the global_v1 version, a driver for example)

What I would like to is :

If I install A -> B -> C, i have :

(A.personnal), (B.personnal), (C.personnal), and (C.global_v2). This point is not really difficult I think.

If I uninstall (C.global_v2) feature using the C.msi file (maybe because the new driver doesn't work well), I would like to replace the (C.global_v2) by the last version I installed (global_v1 in this example), and I want the merge module count to be updated !

I don't know if you caught me, if not, tell me :-)

Thx

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 07 July 2005 - 11:30

Merge modules are no different than regular components. If you wish to install and uninstall then independently (side-by-side) then make sure each is installed in a different directory and uses a different component GUID (basically it may be better not to use a merge module in this case).