This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Training required for simple repackaging?

2 replies to this topic

shuttledude

shuttledude
  • Full Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 28 February 2009 - 00:48

I am wondering whether training would be required, or whether I could self-learn, for the use of AdminStudio JUST to (1) repackage about a dozen SIMPLE InstallScript msi apps into basic msi apps (I have the Installshield projects for these), and (2) repackage moderately complex third-party setups (I only have their setup packages; no InstallShield project files). If it's a straightforward process then maybe I can get by with reading the user's manual. I'm not sure the company will pay for formal training.

Repackaging is all I'm interested in. I have plenty of InstallShield experience, but have never used AdminStudio.

Advice, anyone?

Thanks for any input!

Glytzhkof

Glytzhkof
  • Moderators
  • 1,447 posts

Posted 28 February 2009 - 21:48

Repackaging is a black art if ever there was one. To properly clean up a normal third party capture requires a lot of experience. Ironically there is no official training that I know of that will help u learn this properly, it is a matter of knowing Windows well and knowing what to leave out of the package.

As with anything else, there is a cost benefit involved with package cleanup. Ironically a clean package is easier to break than an unclean one since a clean one won't contain redundant information. It is also typically the uninstall of a dirty package that breaks the system, not its installation. This is because it may rip out runtime components and third party components during uninstall.

Later versions of windows are generally much more robust when it comes to putting back files that shouldn't have been removed, but the registry is still vulnerable.