This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Exclusive Features

1 reply to this topic

Pizzero

Pizzero
  • Full Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 05 November 2007 - 12:12

My problem is in principle very simple, however I have some difficulties, as I'm new to msi installer:

In my installation I have a set of features that must be installed mutually exclusive on the target system.

Being a good practice (and after an inquiry perhaps being one of the few reasonable alternatives) in this case I have authored a new dialog which uses RadioButtons to ensure exclusiveness at the UI level. Then the features can be mutually selected with AddLocal and Remove ControlEvents of a PushButton.

But how can mutual exclusiveness be guaranteed if the Installer does not run at full UI level and the dialog will not be shown?
How do I ensure an initial selection of certain features based on a property? (as I have understood standard/custom actions to do this are not available and that e.g. MsiUseFeature functions are not allowed...)

To complicate matters further, the underlying components use identical file names (that's also a reason why they must be mutual exclusive) and I don't know how this does interfere with windows installer. I want that maintainance and repair installations work properly...

(If the feature selection state is based on a local property, would I have to save the property then? (so that repair and maintainance installations will work properly either in full UI mode or not?))