This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

how do i make an entrty in the RemoveFile table

9 replies to this topic

samay

samay
  • Full Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 04 March 2009 - 07:39

Hi all,
I have an issue....I need to add entries into the RemoveFile table through my program...

I am new to installshield and am quite clueless....

please could someone help me out and tel me how i could access the RemoveFile table from my code???

Please give me a solution asap....I need guidence asap....

Thanks in advance!!!!

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 12 March 2009 - 21:10

You mean you need to post-process the .msi file after you have built it with InstallShield? Why can't you add these entries in InstallShield's Direct Editor?

samay

samay
  • Full Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 23 March 2009 - 08:23

Hi Stefan,

Thanks a ton for your reply. I'm sorry I'm replying after a very long time.

I wont be able to adopt your solution. I'll explain the entire issue to you.

We have created an installation using Installshield 11 and it has been deployed in the client systems. So we cant make any changes in the installer, as at this point of time. We also cannot give the clients a new installer...

The issue is with the autoupdate functionality. During autoupdate, the old files are replaced with the updated ones and along with that some manifest files are also added.

When the client tries to uninstall the product, all files are deleted but the manifest files that were added are not deleted!!! We need to make some change in the code so that the manifest files are deleted during uninstallation via Add/Remove programs.

What ever changes we have to make is now limited to changes in the code!!!!

Please help and guide me on the above lines

THANKS IN ADVANCE!!!!