This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Maintenance mode causes difficulties

6 replies to this topic

robinm

robinm
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 December 2001 - 14:15

This may be a dumb question, if so my apologies. I am fairly new to IS6, having used IS5 for a few years and only recently upgraded. I have found that this maintenance system causes me problems.

Basically most of our installations unlock different components based on the serial number the user has been issued. For instance you could install the main program with no optional sub-components, the main program with some extra stuff, or just any of the sub-components on their own - all depending on what serial number we've given you. So previously with my IS5 based scripts you could run the installation more than once, adding new things that you've paid for later.
I always assumed this was quite common.

However, now with my new IS6 script the maintenance mode kicks in whenever you run the setup a second time so you can't run the through the original installation again and enter different codes for extra stuff, which I really need users to be able to do.

Anyone got any suggestions?

(Edited by robinm at 1:22 pm on Dec. 7, 2001)

lasenbby

lasenbby
  • Members
  • 744 posts

Posted 07 December 2001 - 19:41