This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Deferred Custom Action

3 replies to this topic

SwatiBansal

SwatiBansal
  • Members
  • 24 posts

Posted 25 November 2005 - 07:37

Hi,
I am new to Installshield. So this may be a obvious question.

I am registering an EXE with my MSI. Later, this MSI has to read a dat file and make some registry entry. So I made a deferred custom action which I am executing after RegisterComPlus Event. But it gives error 1721. "There is a problem with this Windows Installer package........" But there is no error path given with this message.

I am using these particulars in CA.

Working Directory : INSTALLDIR

Filename and CommandLine :
bpslgcpn.exe -D -Hl Default -Fi "[ProgramFilesFolder]\BPS\4.2\Install\security.dat"

Is there anything wrong with this statement. Bcoz when i am running it from command prompt its working fine.

Plzzzz help. Its urgent.

Thanks in advance.
Swati.

Glytzhkof

Glytzhkof
  • Moderators
  • 1,447 posts

Posted 25 November 2005 - 16:52

Property values are normally not accessible in deferred context unless you have written them into the execution script using a set property action in the immediate sequence. I was under the assumption that you can still use system properties (which is what you do), but maybe those are not available either.

I would try these two things (in order of preference)

1: Try to replace [ProgramFilesFolder] with the INSTALLDIR property (adjust the trailing path accordingly). I believe Installshield is doing something with the INSTALLDIR property so that it may be available to you in deferred mode. If this does not work, try option two: