This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

file update

1 reply to this topic

kamur

kamur
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 12 June 2003 - 05:20

Hello,

I am a newbie to Installshield application. I am trying to create a new package for a certain applicaton of mine..As part of it, I need to add three constant lines at the end of a windows text document present in a certain directory.

Lets say the document (..\system32\etc\folders\services.txt) is always present here...Thru installshied, I need to open this services.txt and append three lines at the end of this document. Lets say the three lines are:
Line1 Input11 Port 1111
Line2 Output11 Port 1112
Line3 Error11 Port 1113

How do I go about updating this through installshield scripts...

Regards
Kamur

Taco Bell

Taco Bell

IS6 Expert

• Moderators
  • 1,281 posts

Posted 15 June 2003 - 09:27

This is pretty simple to do. The code would go something like the following:

CODE
NUMBER nResult, nvFileHandle;
STRING szPath, szFilename;

szPath = <Specifies the path (which may include a drive designation), of the file you want to open.>
szFilename <Specifies the unqualified name (that is, without a drive designation or path ) of the file you want to open.>

nResult = OpenFileMode(FILE_MODE_APPEND);
nResult = OpenFile(nvFileHandle, szPath, szFileName);

if (nResult = 0) then
 nResult = WriteLine(nvFileHandle, "Input11 Port 1111");
 nResult = WriteLine(nvFileHandle, "Output11 Port 1112");
 nResult = WriteLine(nvFileHandle, "Error11 Port 1113");

nResult = CloseFile(nvFileHandle);
else
 MessageBox("Unable to open the file '"+szPath^szFilename"'.", WARNING);
endif;