This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

How do I prevent registry keys being overwritten

3 replies to this topic

vincent.magallona

vincent.magallona
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 27 May 2003 - 15:58

I'm a newbie at this and I'm currently using Installshield Developer 8.0.

Perhaps I'm not using the developer or the technologies as intended but as far as I can ascertain a minor upgrade or a patch to an installation will reinstall or reinitialise my registry keys back to their default values.

In the case of the installers I am working on, registry keys are installed by the setup.exe but their values are set post installation by a configuration program. We've used this technique to ensure that all registry keys are removed upon uninstallation...which is fair.

However, when performing a minor upgrade or applying a patch the registry keys that were set by the configuration program are overwritten and set back to default thus breaking the system.

Is there a way of not wiping the registry like this when performing minor upgrades or applying patches?

Thanks in advance for any help

GuySmiley

GuySmiley
  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 27 May 2003 - 20:20

Hi Vincent.. I think you can accomplish it by using a combination of the AppSearch, RegLocator, and Property tables.

First of all, don't write the values explicitly in the Registry table, instead write a property value. eg: set Value="[TESTPROPERTY]" .. this syntax will replace the string with the value of that property at runtime.

Next insert your default value for TESTPROPERTY into the Property table.

Finally, add a RegLocator entry for that registry value and use the AppSearch table to associate it with TESTPROPERTY.

properties are initialized in the following order 1) command-line value, 2) Property table value 3) AppSearch value