This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Error 1723 calling WiseAPI.DLL

10 replies to this topic

VBScab

VBScab
  • Full Members
  • 436 posts

Posted 15 November 2005 - 11:06

As part of my install, a couple of virtual directories are created. Now, for these, I normally just use the 'Web App' dialog and let Wise get on with it, thus I have no knowledge of what goes on "behind the scenes", as it were.

What we're seeing is a 1723 error (A required DLL could not be run...) and from the log, I can see that it's the VD creation bit that's failing. Last night, I did some digging and discovered that ALL the "File Name" entries in the Installation Expert's Project Definition/Resources pane were showing as "Unspecified", including the CustomAction responsible for the VD creation. Thinking I was on to a winner, I edited all of these to point to their correct locations, e.g. [WiseResourcePath]Stub\WiseAPI.DLL and so on. I compiled the MSI (note that no MSI has ever errored for these missing entries, so there's a HUGE bug, in my opinion!), ran it but got the same error.

Now, I imagine that when it runs, the MSI is *supposed* to copy the files referred to in the Resources list somewhere, I presumed beneath where it copied the local MSI e.g. %temp%\Stub. I searched the install target for them, but they're not present (but they ARE present on the compiling machine). So, do I have to add these files into the File table manually or *should* this be handled automatically by Wise?

Sorry to seem so thick but, as I say, for me this has always been a thing that just, well, works!
- Don't know why 'x' happened? Want to know why 'y' happened? ProcMon will tell you.
- Try using http://www.google.com before posting.
- I answer questions only via forums. Please appreciate the time I give here and don't send me personal emails.