This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Utilizing return values from VBScript CA

3 replies to this topic

MNJon

MNJon
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 20 December 2004 - 21:54

Hello,

I have a Vbscript custom action (Type 6) in a Basic MSI install. This CA is executed when the Next button in a dialog is clicked (using a DoAction).

I am trying to get the install to proceed to the next dialog if the CA returns a certain value, but keep the same dialog displayed if a different value is returned.

(I am checking for the existance of a record in an Access database in a customer-supplied location).

I attempted to return a property to the install, but seem to be unable to write a property back during the UI sequence. (I can successfully write a property back during the execute sequence)

I then tried sending a different return value back from the CA. Works dandy, but I don't seem to be able to utilize the return value.

Lastly, I do not want to abort the install with a return value, which I do understand how to do - only to keep the user from advancing.

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 21 December 2004 - 09:51

How did you verify that the property doen't get set by your custom action? Did you generate a log file?
How do you set the property in your custom action (VBScript code)?

MNJon

MNJon
  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 December 2004 - 15:33

I verified that the property was not returned to the install by generating an MSI log file. Note that I did stop the install at the end of the UI sequence.

I am returning the property to the install using the following in VBScript:

set DBO=Session.Database
set InstallerObj=Session.Installer
Session.Property("JRETURN") = "1"

This code correctly sets the property when run during the execute sequence