This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Upgrading product between specific versions

3 replies to this topic

nobledeveloper

nobledeveloper
  • Full Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 17 June 2009 - 01:46

Hi,
I am very new to the Installer world, but have done quite a bit of reading before I decided to post on this forum. Please pardon me if my problem looks lame.

The Problem:
I am required to create an installer (4.0) that upgrades only versions "2.x" and 3.x. If the version "1.x" is installed, I need to display a message stating that the installer is not meant for upgrading "1.x"

My Expected Solution:
As mentioned in the documents that I read, I changed the product code, package code and the version to 4.0 and left the upgrade code same as the older versions. Under Media->Upgrades->Upgrade Windows Installer Setup, added a Major Upgrade Item and selected the "within the specific range of versions" and entered "2.0 to 3.0"

Result:
I expected the installer not to install 4.0 when I had installed the version 1.0 om my system but, the installer went ahead and installed 4.0

I would highly appreciate it if anybody could help me in suggesting a solution to my problem.

PS:Also, any suggestions on a reference book for using Installshield? The only book on Amazon specific to Installshield has very low ratings sad.gif

VBScab

VBScab
  • Full Members
  • 436 posts

Posted 17 June 2009 - 09:08

Check out MSDN for details on AppSearch and LaunchConditions actions and related tables. Without doubt, InstallShield offers a UI to these options, it's simply that I can't remember them!