This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

InstallShield/Delphi

1 reply to this topic

wokkie

wokkie
  • Full Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 April 2008 - 10:57

Hi,

I have created an application in Delphi 6. I'm trying to build an Install shield for it ant most of it works. I want to protect my program with a serial key. According to InstallShield this is best done by creating a .dll to validate a serial number. I can't seem to find anywhere on the internet how such a dll is made so that the installshield can work with it.

I'm quite new with this, I have never built a dll file before. There are some simple courses to create a simple dll file, but they all intent to do something within the Delphi program.

According to the help in the InstallShield express there is a standard dll function in the samples folder. I do see some textfiles, but i can't seem tot compile them to a dll file.

I wonder if anyone can give me, or tell me how to make, a simple example of such a dll file. I'll figure out myself how to adjust it to my wishes, but I just can't seem to get a dll file that works with InstallShield.

Everytime I run my installshield I get the following error:
Can not find the entry ppoint of function 'ValidateSN', make sure it is exported.

I don't really know how to build a function in a dll file so that installshield can find the entry point of that function. Perhaps anyone can help me??

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 21 April 2008 - 18:10

I don't know if Delphi creates expoert fuctions in the same way that C++ does. Check your DLL with DependencyWalker to see if the export is correct.