This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Repairing an MSI

6 replies to this topic

superManDan

superManDan
  • Full Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 June 2009 - 18:37

Hi Everyone,
I need to know more about what happens during a "repair". I have tried searching everywhere on the web and MSDN....i can't really seem to find what I'm looking for.

I'm building an MSI file to install a home-grown application. I'm a systems engineer by trade, but somehow got stuck being the chump in charge of packaging our applications.....enough complaining....the moral of the story is that I'm not a developer, so I'm novice at this.

I really need the application to be "repairable"...the application has many xml config files that the application access during runtime. If a user mucks one of these files up, i would like to be able to "repair" it and completly replace these files and all others....taking the guess work out of what has changed.

I'm having problems with that. Basically, what's happening is that during the "repair", none of the xml files are being replaced....i'm assuming due to the MSI file versioning rules. I've tried putting the RemovePreviousVersions action in the sequence with the thought that it would remove all of the files and solve my problem.....only to find out that during a "maintenance" install, it does not process that action. I've added the "remove files" action and that doesn't work. I've tried many other things and none of them are working for me. The deeper i get into this the more it seems to me that msi's behave totall different during a "maintenance" install or "repair"....and i can't seem to find out any information on this.

Does anyone have any suggestions or any info about what happens during a repair?

VBScab

VBScab
  • Full Members
  • 436 posts

Posted 10 June 2009 - 19:33