This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Processing Installed Files

9 replies to this topic

nvadnais

nvadnais
  • Full Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 22 January 2010 - 21:53

Just browsing through InstallScript help file, so I am really new to it.

I am building a Basic MSI but need to manipulate the files I just installed. Should I be looking at InstallScript instead of VB for my custom action? You ever had to run an InstallScript against details of the just processed install (where the script reads the data versus you keying it into the script to match the install; an example would be getting the user's INSTALLDIR instead of the MSI's default)?

Appreciate any help or pointers you can provide! Thanks. biggrin.gif

Norman

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 24 January 2010 - 15:56

You could use InstallScript or VBScript, whichever you prefer. You can get values from the install by retrieving the property value ;siGetProperty in InstallScript or Session.Property("PropertyName") in VBScript.
Or maybe you don't need to write script code at all. Depending on the InstallShield version you are using, there is built in functionality to modify XML or TXT files.

nvadnais

nvadnais
  • Full Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 25 January 2010 - 10:14

My customization is adjusting the timestamp of the just delivered files (a later project might modify XML files, but I need the timestamp switch right away). I don't see any built-in way to tell MsiExec to set all of the files using UTC; all installed files seem to apply their timestamp as "local time" (current to the local time zone). I need a file installed in New York to be 7:00 AM and Los Angeles to be 4:00 AM if the file in the MSI is marked noon (the noon is UTC).