This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

change the display name of application in Add remo

7 replies to this topic

amitha

amitha
  • Full Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 August 2008 - 07:13

Hi,
I am new to installshield.The first task my company assigned me is to change the display name in the Add/remove programs panel.I am using Basic msi project.I should only chnage the name here and not product name .Is it possible???
I saw that in installscript msi,it is possible.But how do i do it here???

Please help!!

Thanks.

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 07 August 2008 - 17:05

As far as I know the Add/Remove COntrol panel will always use the ProductName property. However you could modify your dialogs to display something else, either some other property or even static text. You would have to edit the strings for all languages. However it might be confusing to end users if the setup tells them it is installing "A" but in control panel it's listed as "B".

amitha

amitha
  • Full Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 08 August 2008 - 07:10

QUOTE (Stefan Krueger @ 2008-08-07 17:05)
As far as I know the Add/Remove COntrol panel will always use the ProductName property. However you could modify your dialogs to display something else, either some other property or even static text. You would have to edit the strings for all languages. However it might be confusing to end users if the setup tells them it is installing "A" but in control panel it's listed as "B".

hi thanks for the response,but i only want to change the display name of the product in Add/remove programs.I have handled everything on the dialog side.

vijayakumar

vijayakumar
  • Full Members
  • 43 posts

Posted 08 August 2008 - 10:11

Hi Amitha,