This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Best practices?

3 replies to this topic

masterjonte

masterjonte
  • Full Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 07 December 2007 - 14:04

Hi!
I am new to installations and I am looking for best practices with the help of WISE and windows Installer 4.0. We have 5 diffrent projects running with diffrent developer teams. We want to end up with a simple MSI installation for all these products/Programs. We have been looking for a simple way of doing this and mergeModules looks like it's the bestway. But is it? I think you can do this with MSM files merged into a MSI file. The MSI will only be a shell for the MSM's.

I know that you loose the concept of using patches but we do not have to use that in our product. Is it also possible to make command line installations of features built with only MSM's? That is if I want to only install one of my modules/features MSM's from the list.

I know that mergemodules are ment to be shared by a bunch of MSI's but I want to implement a way of releasing and packing in a simple way. Every project/developer is now responsible for packing the MSM to suit the release MSI.
My MSI project will then only house 5 MSM's.
Is there anything I miss and will have problems with this form of developing MSI installtions?

I hope you understand my question and can answer.

Zweitze

Zweitze
  • Full Members
  • 522 posts

Posted 10 December 2007 - 00:01

I did some work that way, it works great if these MSMs just contain files, registry keys etc. I was using InstallShield and found out that this method has some advantages in building, just creating a test build was much faster when InstallShield can include pre-built MSMs, because the including is faster than InstallShield's compression engine.

There are a few downsides you'll need to take care of: