This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

SID Lookup Merge Module

3 replies to this topic

ktrout75

ktrout75
  • Full Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 October 2008 - 19:56

Hi forum:

I am a new IS 2009 Professional user. Over the last 2-3 months I've learned the very basics and have created installers for my company's new product which is now in public beta. Several international clients have downloaded an installer only to find that the folder and file permissions I specified are incompatible with their non-English Windows operating systems.

Backing up a little, the installers (32 and 64 bit) run on XP, 2K3, Vista and 2K8 and assign permissions on certain items to ASPNET or NETWORK SERVICE, depending on the operating system of the target machine. In order to apply permissions to the appropriate web user, I created two set-property custom actions both with the Property Name SERVICEUSER, one with a Property Value ASPNET and the other with a Property Value NETWORK SERVICE. When I need to apply permissions, therefore, I enter [SERVICEUSER] as User and rely on the custom action conditions to specify the appropriate value at install. I also bestow generic all permissions upon Users and Administrators wherever SERVICEUSER permissions are applied.

In order to solve my language issue, I would like to incorporate the merge module available here at:
http://www.installsi...s.htm#SIDLookup

I understand that this merge module comes with a custom action that will retrieve well-known SIDs for use in the Lock Permissions table but I have one small problem. This will be my first time incorporating a merge module and I have no clue what to do with this thing. I have downloaded/unzipped it and browsed to add it to the list in the Prerequisites view.