This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

MSI - A few basic doubts

5 replies to this topic

shrishankaraan

shrishankaraan
  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 10 August 2001 - 03:29

Dear All
I'm brand new to windows Installer file development and like any other software engineer I need to finish my task in a jiffy. i did get a few basics right about this from SDK. but htere are a few important things which evades me:
will anyone please help me understand these things?

1.  How can I create a selection tree control ? I tried to execute the UISample.msi - but it doesn't proceed further after asking the registration Key - it just pops up a message box "Please Wait while the installer finishes determining your disk space requirements" and just hangs there. Pl. explain how can i create a dialog box which helps me to display all the features & components in a selection tree control format.

( 2 ) I have many dll's & exe's & i have added them in the Componeet Table . these componets are all self registering , Now, Do I need to fill in the SelfReg table or should I fill in teh CLass & Type Lib table individually?? Also, each dll has say 25 classes. is it required for me to put all the classes in teh dll in the Class Table??

( 2 ) SDK says that I cna validate my msi file by merging the mergemod.cub file in to the dtaabase file. but how can I merge this?? i tried to copy all the tables of my .cub file in to the msi file & it gives an eror - "Fatal Conflict between .cub file & taabse file"

Lastly ,  My project has a few ll's & one exe hich are being shared by the few features so, Iunderstand that these shared dll's should be put in a individual merge module & the shared exeshould be put in a merge modul individually. Am i right?

Please help me out.

Thanks
regards
Sankar

Irina

Irina
  • Members
  • 227 posts