This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

MSI Doesn't know I am uninstalling a patch?

4 replies to this topic

jesse.wolfe

jesse.wolfe
  • Full Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 September 2012 - 21:33

Greetings, Stefan, and all!

I am somewhat new to MSI and I am in over my head. sad.gif

I applied a small update to an RTM installation. I have a custom action defined, and the MSIEXEC 4.5 "only run on patch uninstall" bit set and no exec conditions. I am on Server 2008, and the MSIEXEC is at 5.000.something.

When I uninstall, I get this in the log:

"Skipping action because it is not part of a patch uninstall."

Does this special CA type apply for quickpatch projects only? The patch I am rolling back is a small upgrade delivered via patch.

The only other link to this in Google is in the German MSI forum, and translations of that did not yield a useful answer for me.

Thanks In Advance,

Jesse

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 27 September 2012 - 16:57

Is this custom action included in the RTM or in the .msp or in both?

jesse.wolfe

jesse.wolfe
  • Full Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 27 September 2012 - 18:58

Thanks, Stefan, for responding!

At first I tried to have it in the .msp, since the docs said it could be done that way.

Then I redid things so the CA was in the base with no exec conditions. I'd prefer if I could get this working from a patch, but I would settle for a"shim" patch that I could then add another patch to that would then be uninstallable.

So I guess technically the CA is in both the MSI and the msp at this point.

I'll attach a snapshot of the exec sequence and CA params to see if anything jumps out at you.

Regards,

Jesse

Attached Images

• ExecuteSequenceSnapshot.gif

Edited by jesse.wolfe, 27 September 2012 - 19:01.