This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Major Upgrade for Chained MSI project failed, 1603

13 replies to this topic

sai21

sai21
  • Full Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 08 May 2010 - 15:57

Dear all, I am new to InstallShield and now have a big problem. Please help.

This installshield project contains MSI components, each of them can be installed successfully. The old version install application - setup.exe, contains component A, B, C, D, and new Version contains A, D, E, F (remove some old components, add new ones). So I choose to make a major upgrade. Is it right?

In intallshield project, I changed package code, product code, product version, but leave upgrade unchanged. And then I made a new version setup.exe. In a fresh install, which means no old version installed previously, the new version can be installed successfully, which you can see from attachment 1.

When I have an old version installed, and then try to install the new one, the problem occurs: The installation reports success but actually it didn't uninstall new components, old version componts are still there. And I checked the log file ( I use Setup.exe /debuglog to get an debug log), it shows
...\Windows Client Package.msi" SETUPEXEDIR="D:\KT\Single Install\2.5\507\4" SETUPEXENAME="setup.exe"5-8-2010[09:18:35]: Launch result 1, exit code 1603
The whole log file is attachment 2.
I guess it means it didn't succesfully launch a new version setup.exe, but I did see the setup progross ( remove some files, add some files ), maybe it recalled old version reinstall, but why?