This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Vista Problem

5 replies to this topic

RaviMudhol

RaviMudhol
  • Full Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 14:54

Hi everybody,

I am a newbie to IS12. I am unable to register a exe and dll's on Vista developed by vs2005 during installation.
I have tried registering with selfregister,it failed. Then I had also tried by using a custom action dll
with deffered execution in System context. Then also it failed.
But when vc++ redistributable is installed, Installation goes through fine. I had made a seperate setup for merge modules
installed intially,then Installing our exe, it went through fine. Is there any way to install to merge modules and our exe,
in one go. Pls throw some light on it.

Thanks in advance.

Ravi Mudhol.

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 06 November 2006 - 18:04

Yes, you can add merge modules in the redistributables view.

RaviMudhol

RaviMudhol
  • Full Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 November 2006 - 05:28

Hi Stefan,

Thanks for the reply. I had tested with the merge modules in the redistributable view. It fails. Is bootstrapper kind of thing will work out. If yes, how to create the bootstrapper. or if two phase installations will do, i.e installing the merge modules initially and our dlls and exe at later will work out, Then, how to create two phase installations.

Thanks and Regards,

Ravi Mudhol.

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 07 November 2006 - 08:11

For the bootstrapper, you can create a setup for the redistributables, and create a custom prerequisite from it.