This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Repackaging checklist

6 replies to this topic

Glytzhkof

Glytzhkof
  • Moderators
  • 1,447 posts

Posted 29 July 2004 - 09:40

When repackaging and deploying applications there are many pitfalls. I am new to repackaging, but want to list a few issues I have discovered here. Hopefully many people have things to add:
  • The obvious first: you need a CLEAN computer when doing repackaging. After trusting the repackaging tool cleanup for a while I have now resorted to complete re-imaging with Norton Ghost for every packaging process.
  • Run SFC.exe on the packaging computer before making the base image
  • If you work in a domain make sure the image you create is NOT added to the domain
  • Try to write only to HKLM\Software
  • Look through the capture info from the repackaging applications. Should be obvious, but I never read it close enough. Very frequently there is hardware and event information in there
  • Make sure your packaging library is stored in a location that makes it survive reimaging processes
  • Try to convert all repackaged applications to MSI (to prevent legacy setups from replacing system files)
  • Enable any tracing features provided by the packaging tool
  • Familiarize yourself with the application you are packaging.
  • For old *.hlp files (help files). Open them, go to the search tab and generate the search index file (*.fts) after installation. This prevents problems with users who do not have write access to the directory where the *.hlp file is located.
  • Open the application after installation and have it create any indexes and data files it needs
  • Try to put all files on a single partition. When you add files to a different drive such as D:\ the setup might fail on a computer which does not have a D:\ drive