This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Novice user trying to launch a dialog. Help!!

8 replies to this topic

baking

baking
  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 09 March 2001 - 17:14

I am using ISWI 2.01. I have been able to successfully create and launch custom actions, but whenever I insert a dialog into the User Interface sequence, it never shows up when I run my installation; all it get is a progress bar. I have tried using the full I/F option when I run the install: msiexec /i app.msi /qf  and I still don't see the dialog. Is there a userlevel or some setting I need to set? I am new at this, so don't rule out any obvious suggestions.  BTW, this package was created from importing an existing msi created with Wininstall LE discoz.exe.
Thanks,
baking

(Edited by baking at 5:52 pm on Mar. 9, 2001)

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 09 March 2001 - 19:41

Remember that you must first uninstall before you can run another test, else your old msi file will be used (Windows Installer caches MSI files)

baking

baking
  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 09 March 2001 - 19:56

Thanks for the tip Stefan, I have been doing the uninstall. I can tell when I don't because the install flies by since it's cached.

SteveP

SteveP
  • Members
  • 126 posts

Posted 09 March 2001 - 22:25

I don't use IS, but the most probable cause of a dialog not showing up, if it is part of a sequence, is that is not included in the Next<->Back listing of the preceeding and following dialogs.

If you have the finished MSI package and you have ORCA installed, and if you know where in the sequence you want to dialog to appear, this is easy to check.