This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Size limitations of MSI scripts

2 replies to this topic

lzb7gp

lzb7gp
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 July 2002 - 14:22

Im new to MSI script creation and I was told by a coworker that there may be limitations on the maximum size of the MSI script  as well as a maximum number of files allowed in a script.  Is this true?  If so, what are is the maximum size and maximum number of files.....

thanks!

lzb7gp

lzb7gp
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 August 2002 - 19:28

Got the answer from MS on this one....thanks for all who viewed it.  For any who are curious MS says the following on it:

MSI comes with a default schema that sets the maximum number of files to 32,732 (size of a small integer).  You can, however, alter the schema to use more files.  As for the overall package size, typically there are maximum sizes software distribution tools have (like Tivoli, SMS, etc) for packaging, however, MSI itself does not have a size limitation.

hteichert

hteichert
  • Members
  • 158 posts

Posted 06 September 2002 - 14:31

But there are some other limitations. Some of them can be found in the MS installer SDK documentation. For example (Cut&Paste from docu):

Windows Installer Registry Limitations on Windows 95/98/Me
Microsoft® Windows® Installer has the following registry limitations on Microsoft Windows 95, Windows 98, and Windows Millennium Edition (Windows Me). The stated limits for the maximum number of features or components are approximate. The actual limits can depend upon the installation.