This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Patch files and updated Dlls

3 replies to this topic

cmellon

cmellon
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 January 2004 - 11:49

Hi All,

I am fairly new to install shield, but have managed to create a good setup package that is working fine and as expected.

I am now in the process of creating a patch package but am having problems with updated dll files. The dll files have been developed in using visual basic 6. When i create my patch packages i get the following errors regarding the new dll file: -

ISDEV : warning Val0009 A registry entry has been removed from the component 'SAL_cstUIDTLIV'. This key must be added to the RemoveRegistry table, otherwise it will be orphaned by an upgrade. '0|clsid\{febcf4bb-eb05-4f15-81d9-a0bb76d85c28}\version|'. c:\mysetups\configure sales tracker\main configuration\release 1\v1_1\configure sales tracker.msi

Val0010 The data in component 'SAL_cstUIDTLIV' differs from the previous setup. However, this component will not reinstall in an upgrade scenario. Therefore, the changes will not be applied to the target system during the upgrade. Table: 'Class' Record: '{8384A118-0590-49DD-9444-665F6959B3B0};InprocServer32;SAL_cstUIDTLIV;cstUIDTLiv.cActivity;cstUIDTLiv.cActivity;;;;;;;MainApp;' c:\mysetups\configure sales tracker\main configuration\release 1\v1_1\configure sales tracker.msi

Am i going about this the wrong way. All i want the patch to do is update the main exe file and one dll.

Has anyone got any suggestions or ideas on how i can resolve this.

Thanks in advance.

Craig

cmellon

cmellon
  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 26 January 2004 - 12:56

I have just found the document on the Install Shield website that describes the Val0010 error.