This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Adding files to MSI database

7 replies to this topic

dbcn

dbcn
  • Full Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 05 February 2008 - 06:42

Hi there, I am new to MSI and am facing a few problems.
I did the "Installation Example" tutorial on msdn which wasn't too bad, but it didn't explain too well how to actually add all the file to the .msi database. I am now using msidb.exe to add all the file manually and it seems to work.
My problem is that when I run the msi installer on my target machine it tries to copy all the files from that machine's C: drive. Why doesn't it pick up all the files from the msi database?
Do I have to put all my files into a cab file and include that?

Thanks for your help!

VBScab

VBScab
  • Full Members
  • 436 posts

Posted 05 February 2008 - 10:18

Welcome to hell.

Your life will be made immeasurably easier by using an installation-authoring tool. If your employer doesn't want to spring for one from the two main players Altiris (neé Wise) and InstallShield, there are freeware tools around.

For quick fixes to MSIs or MSTs, most experienced packagers use a tool called Orca which is part of the Windows Installer SDK, a free d/l from Microsoft. I figure you already have that, though, since you're using MSIDB.EXE. You can use Orca to add to the relevant tables, but as I say, a proper tool will pay for itself many times over in terms of your mental health! smile.gif