This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Not &MyFeature=3

8 replies to this topic

Lobo

Lobo
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 06 July 2001 - 17:13

I was given this logic from IS support, but have not had it work yet. I'm trying to have a file installed IF a component is NOT installed. So user deselects feature A1 then I would install X file to show my app that A1 has been de-selected. I'm new to Installshield and could use any suggestions or ideas you might have. So far I've tried to add the logic to the feature's condition "Not &featurename=3" I'm assuming the logic should be in the condition of the Feature and not the component. thx  in  advance

DJamnik

DJamnik
  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 10 July 2001 - 11:12

Try to use "&featurename<>3".
For removing features from existing instalation you can use  "&featurename=2". It means that feature is assigned for removing (it works at my setup).
Maybe this approach can be used during setup to.

Darko JAMNIK, Slovenia

Lobo

Lobo
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 10 July 2001 - 21:30

Thanks - but it didn't work

Martin Aigner

Martin Aigner
  • Full Members
  • 133 posts

Posted 15 July 2001 - 18:25

The problem is, that the condition at Features and Components are evaluated at standard action CostFinalize, but this is run before InstallWellcome.

You can select Components after CostFinalize with API-Function MsiSetComponentState. This should be done in a CA after the dialogs.

Lobo

Lobo
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 15 July 2001 - 20:19

Thanks...I've been trying the CA's. I figured from a previous article that I couldn't do the eval because the answer was always "no" the component is not installed.
I'll try to get a ca to do it.

rflum

rflum
  • Full Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 01 August 2001 - 20:56