This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Converting my InstallScript project to Basic MSI p

7 replies to this topic

haroldxious

haroldxious
  • Full Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 16 January 2007 - 01:34

I have my old installer using setup.exe, when i need to install it in group policy i need to make it an msi project. ive decided to make it a basic msi project.

i dont know how to use installshield 12 yet..im new in developing an installer, can you give me a step by step solution on this?

the only thing i have is the codes from the installscript project.

any help would be very muc appreciated.

thank you very much

kgiloo

kgiloo
  • Full Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 16 January 2007 - 08:01

Personally I used the "Macrovision Training" Guide:
"Learning MSI Projects Using InstallShield 12" written by Robert Dickau.
www.macrovision.com
Good Luck

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 16 January 2007 - 18:17

There are project type conversion options in InstallShield 12, and I believe there's a KB article that describes your scenario. However these converters are limited, and the cleanest way might be to start over.

Glytzhkof

Glytzhkof
  • Moderators
  • 1,447 posts

Posted 16 January 2007 - 22:09

I had to do this once and I believe I ended up creating a blank basic MSI project and then exporting each component from the Installscript MSI project into the new basic MSI project using an option called "Export into project" or something like that (right click component). That way I kept the component GUID's consistent.