This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

conditional reinstall

4 replies to this topic

aknarp

aknarp
  • Full Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 July 2008 - 00:40

Hi,
I am new to the setup and first time created a setup project in VS2005.
Here is my requirement,

I have four components of the project which has few folders and files in each component. some of the compoenents has it's own setup.exe .
when installation is started , user should see all four component as options and if user selects that compoent it should install only those componenets,

later as part of maintenance, he should get the same options, he should be able to select the options which are not selected earlier and install the newly selected components.

if it is setup.exe or msi, then it should launch the installtion for that and return to main installation

What I have did so far is created the required file strcuture, on each file I put some condition, which is linked to some check boxes in the User interface view.

I have following problems:

1.I am not getting the same options screen (UI which i made with checkboxes) and it's control when i try to reinstall. so i can not install the options which i had not selected in the earlier running of the setup .

2.I do not know how to launch the msi from my installer.i tried to launch the setup.exe using a custom action under install folder but it stops in between saying that "another installer already running, close it first"

3.does merge module a good idea to control these components?

Can any body point me to some good documentation or help which adress all these problems in windows installer.

Thanks in adavance,

kirankumar

kirankumar
  • Full Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 21 July 2008 - 10:41

Hi,
Accourding to your problems, i faced previously 2nd problem