This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

MFC 7.1 merge modules

4 replies to this topic

Urban Olars

Urban Olars
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 27 March 2005 - 18:42

I'm using the Windows Installer included in VC++ .NET 2003 to create an
installation for my MFC project. I have added Microsoft's merge modules for MFC7.1, which means that the MFC Dll's are installed in my applications folder. It's
just that I have a sub-folder called bin where I want to put all my
executables and dll's.
How can I change the destination for the files in the merge modules so they
are put in my \bin sub-folder instead of directly under my applications
folder?

Urban Olars

Urban Olars
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 March 2005 - 21:45

I would appreciate if someone could take the time to help me with this. I'm a newbie which you may have realized already :-)

KathyMorey

KathyMorey
  • Full Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 01 April 2005 - 15:27

If I remember correctly from previous discussions about those merge modules, you can't change them. What you might look into instead is using the DuplicateFile or MoveFile table to make a copy of them in your bin directory.

HTH

Kathy Morey
Synergy Software Engineer
ProfitStars, a Jack Henry Company
kmorey@profitstars.com

Zweitze

Zweitze
  • Full Members
  • 522 posts

Posted 01 April 2005 - 22:37

Files from a merge module do get installed in a special directory, after merging the MSM a new entry in the directory table is created (something like INSTALLDIR.<GUID>).
This entry has a parent directory INSTALLDIR, and a DefaultDir value of ".:<GUID>", meaning that everything installed in this directory will be installed in the same folder that INSTALLDIR points to. In case of an admin install, the files will appear in a subfolder <GUID>.