This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

How does repair work?

1 reply to this topic

gronchi

gronchi
  • Members
  • 71 posts

Posted 18 September 2003 - 11:06

Hi to all,
first the problem.

I often deliver beta-test packages to our Test team (not real customer, they are colleagues!).
These packages are frequently modified/updated since they are not final products.

Test people lament each time they have to reinstall a setup they have to first uninstall the old one (same project --> automatically enter the maintenance mode).

I thought to say them to use Repair mode instead of Remove+Install when I give them the new packages (same project).
So I studied how Maintenance Repair work.
I discovered that:
(-) if I add/modified some source file and then rebuild the package the Repair will add/replace those file in the installed tree.
(-) if I delete some source file and then rebuild the package the Repair will NOT delete them in the installed tree.
(-) if I add a new group (linking it to an old component) and then rebuild the package the Repair will add the new group's files in the installed tree.
(-) if I delete a group and then rebuild the package the Repair will NOT delete the deleted group's files in the installed tree.
(-) if I add/delete a component and then rebuild the package the Repair will NOT add/delete it in the installed tree.

That is, Reapair seems to me to reinstall all new package files\programs ONLY if they "belong" to old components and it NEVER delete from the installed tree files\programs no more packaged.
It's right?

If this is true, Repair doesn't resolve my problem since remove files/groups from project is a frequently operation during test time.

Is there an alternative way to "update" a setup without perform a Remove+Install and without turn each time to a new project?