This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

What are merge modules?

1 reply to this topic

ZK123456

ZK123456
  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 06 March 2002 - 13:36

Hi

As you may have guessed, I am a beginner to MSI packaging. I am currently having a problem packaging Visio 2000 and another FTP client program, both of which use VBA.

On packaging each of the applications, both asked if I wanted to use certain merge modules, which appeared to be related to VBA files.

I selected no, and they continued on being packaged.

Now I have a problem. If the Visio MSI is installed WITHOUT the FTP program being installed, it works fine. But the moment I execute the FTP MSI, Visio refuses to open, and asks for the VBA CD.

So this is why I think I should've selected Yes to the initial packaging process, when it asked me if I wanted to use the merge modules.

Can anyone confirm if my assumption is correct? Or am I barking up the wrong tree?

Is this why merge modules are used? What are the advantages of using, for example, VBA merge modules?

Thanks a lot
ZK123456

rjtonnis

rjtonnis
  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 15 March 2002 - 20:15