This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Basic Custom Install Path question - URGENT

8 replies to this topic

bbeachem

bbeachem
  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 July 2004 - 16:51

Okay, this seems straight forward in the documentation, tutorial, and online forums. I am new to IS, but have tried to research this a lot. I am also maintaining someone else's code who is no longer here (and was not a IS expert either). Regardless it's not working.
GOAL:
I need to allow the user to specify a custom install path.

This is what I've done so far (yet it doesn't work).
1) For General Information->Product Properties the INSTALLDIR is set to:
->[ProgramFilesFolder]MyCompany\MyProduct
2) For ALL the components, the Destination is set to [INSTALLDIR]
3) In the function OnBegin, INSTALLDIR is initialized to:
INSTALLDIR = ProgramFilesFolder ^@COMPANY_NAME ^@PRODUCT_NAME;

4) the Ask Destination Path Dialog box has the following code:
Dlg_SdAskDestPath:
szTitle = @COMPANY_NAME;
szMsg = "";
nResult = SdAskDestPath(szTitle, szMsg, szDir, 0);
INSTALLDIR = szDir;
MessageBox (INSTALLDIR + " is the INSTALLDIR entered.", INFORMATION); //debug
MsiSetTargetPath(ISMSI_HANDLE, "TARGETPATH", szDir);
if (nResult = BACK) then
goto Dlg_SdLicense;
endif;

5) In the Dialog Dlg_SdStartCopy the following code exists:
Dlg_SdStartCopy:
szTitle = @COMPANY_NAME;
szMsg = "";
listStartCopy = ListCreate(STRINGLIST);
sz3 = @DEST_FOLDER + INSTALLDIR;
MessageBox("In OnFirstUIBefore sz3 is: " + sz3,INFORMATION); //debug
ListAddString(listStartCopy, sz3, AFTER);
FeatureSetTarget(MEDIA, "<INSTALLDIR>", INSTALLDIR);
MessageBox("called FeatureSetTarget and set it to INSTALLDIR: " + INSTALLDIR, INFORMATION); //debug
nResult = SdStartCopy(szTitle, szMsg, listStartCopy);
ListDestroy(listStartCopy);
if (nResult = BACK) then
goto Dlg_SdAskDestPath;
endif;