This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Failed to marshal script action

5 replies to this topic

reflex

reflex
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 06 October 2003 - 11:34

Hi guys,

I hope some light can be shed on this...

I have a VBScript custom action (Type 38) which is running in the InstallExecute sequence. The installation runs fine on a whole host of machines except for one machine (Windows 2000).
It returns this error when it tries to run the CA:

MSI (s) (48:B4): Creating MSIHANDLE (64) of type 0 for thread 948
MSI (s) (48:B4): Failed to marshal script action.
MSI (s) (48:B4): Failed to marshal script action.
MSI (s) (48:B4): Closing MSIHANDLE (64) of type 0 for thread 948
MSI (s) (48:B4): Closing MSIHANDLE (63) of type 790542 for thread 948
Action ended 7:46:25: ConvertCase. Return value 3.

Does anyone know why this is happening or has it happened to anyone else before?

All the custom action is doing is some string manipulation, changing the value of properties to be all upper-case.

Thanks in advance

Pete

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 07 October 2003 - 11:38

Does the script run on that machine if you save it as .vbs file and launch it directly? I suspect the VBScript may be disabled or damaged on that machine. Or a virus scanner is preventing VBS from running.

reflex

reflex
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 07 October 2003 - 12:58

I have asked the client to try and run a .vbs file manually to see if that is the problem, still waiting for a response back.

Thanks for the pointers, I will keep you informed as to the outcome.

reflex

reflex
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 09 October 2003 - 09:51

This one is about to make me go mad.