This is a ready-only archive of the InstallSite Forum. You cannot post any new content here. / Dies ist ein Archiv des InstallSite Forums. Hier können keine neuen Beiträge veröffentlicht werden.
Photo

Custom upgrade message (IS11)

6 replies to this topic

MikeAshton

MikeAshton
  • Full Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 08 March 2010 - 14:35

Hi,

I really hope somebody can help me out here.

I am using InstallShield 11 (MSI) and I want to remind the user to perform a backup of their database prior to performing a minor upgrade of our software.

Do you know whether this can be done? A message box popping up before they commit to the upgrade would suffice.

Thanks
Mike.

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 08 March 2010 - 17:22

I'd suggest calling the MessageBox() function

MikeAshton

MikeAshton
  • Full Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 March 2010 - 10:24

At which point can I call it though? I'm new to InstallShield and can't seem to find an appropriate handler/don't know much about custom actions.

Thanks.
Mike.

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 09 March 2010 - 10:58

I'd say the OnUpdateUIBefore() event handler would be a good place. Do you know how to add the event handler default code to your script view and modify it?

MikeAshton

MikeAshton
  • Full Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 09 March 2010 - 13:00

Thanks for your prompt reply Stefan.

No, I don't know how to add the default code. I did a quick Google search but I couldn't find it. What do I have to do?

Cheers.
Mike.

Stefan Krueger

Stefan Krueger

InstallSite.org

• Administrators
  • 13,269 posts

Posted 09 March 2010 - 17:52